A 2nd Look at the Woman who Hemorrhaged for 12 years

I’ve been remiss in keeping up with our study time together; I apologize. Life has thrown me a few health challenges. Therefore, my blogging time has been difficult to find.  I think I’m back on track (assuming the enemy doesn’t throw any more curve balls my way 🙂 ) I hope to finish this series on the Healings of Jesus and the series on Prayer.  Then we will explore what the Bible says about Fear, Hell and Heaven.   These topics should keep us busy for a while.

Shortly before my injury I wrote a blog on the unnamed Woman who hemorrhaged for 12 years and was miraculously healed.  I would like to revisit this blog for the moment and share a new insight or two into our mysterious woman’s world.image

  • The woman was considered unclean. Her illness could have been a chronic menstrual disorder or some sort of uterine hemorrhage. Her condition made her “ritually unclean” which would exclude her from normal social contact; for anyone who came in contact with her would then become unclean too (for more info see the book of Leviticus chapter 15 in the Bible). Understanding the culture of the time gives us clearer understanding of the woman’s actions. To violate Jewish tradition and the Jewish laws of uncleanliness in such a large crowd would have meant complete outrage by the multitudes and could lead to flogging or public stoning and certain death.  This woman risked everything which shows the depth of her belief in the One Who Heals; a man she had never met, only heard about.
  • The woman’s identity is unknown. We have no name, nationality or any identifying details, until after her interaction with Jesus. Jesus calls her Daughter (This passage in Mark is the only recorded use of the title daughter, by Jesus).  When Jesus called her daughter he was recognizing her new relationship with him. Her faith healed her, literally saved or delivered her, in that it caused her to seek healing from the One Who Saves; Jesus.
  • And finally, I began to think about the multitude, the crowd; bumping room only.  What was different about this woman’s touch of the robe?  In a crowd this size there is no doubt others touched his robe as well. I suspect many did. The difference is her faith.  Jesus is able to distinguish the touch of one who seeks Him versus one who simply comes for what he has to offer.

My faith, like our unnamed woman, is rooted in the person of Jesus Christ.  I hope, pray and am somewhat confident that when I leave earth and enter into the heavenly realm, I will be greeted with the endearing, tender, all encompassing, “Welcome Daughter”.

Until next time,
Sandra

For further insights into this passage, please also read Hemorrhaging for 12 Years – Miraculously Healed at https://throughthebibletogether.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/hemorrhaging-for-12-years-miraculously-healed

“He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.”

Would love to hear what you think about this incredible woman of faith.  Please leave a comment.

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Healing, Mark and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

