Seeking with all Your Heart

Welcome to another “Knee-Down” (exploring Prayer) Wednesday blog.  A part of praying which doesn’t get much coverage is seeking God.  What does it mean to seek? Merriam Webster defines seeking as to search for someone or something, to ask for help/advice; to discover; to be sought.  In Matthew 7:7-8 we read, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” The Greek word for seeking used in this passage is zéteó; meaning to seek God, to turn to him; to strive humbly and sincerely to follow and obey.

seek-god2How does one seek God through prayer?  For me it’s getting out my Bible and looking up Scriptures related to the topic on which I desire his wisdom and guidance. I pray and meditate upon those Scriptures (meditation is simply “chewing” (thinking upon) what I’ve read).  Part of reading is making sure I understand the passage. Understanding the passage requires looking at it past, present and future. (More on this in an upcoming blog) Understanding a passage may entail looking up words, similar to what I did above with the word seek.  Then, I go before God in audible prayer or through writing in my journal and share with him what’s on my mind.  I must take time to listen too. Yes, God does speak to me; no it’s not an audible voice but thoughts which come to mind; although I have heard God’s voice audibly on several occasions.  I record what I sense he is saying. At times I search out others more knowledgeable to help me with a confusing passage.  Yet, through the years I’ve learned if I’m willing to surrender my preconceived teachings and personal thoughts on a subject and allow God’s Holy Spirit to do the teaching, the Bible will teach me. Scripture does teach us, and it does enlighten. We must be willing to let go of preconceived ideas and let God’s Holy Spirit be our teacher.

Seeking God is diligent, time prioritized, reading, listening and recording with an emptying of pride and self, going before him in prayer with a surrendered heart.

Have questions on this subject?  Feel free to ask them in the comments section.  I will answer.  Or, you may email me privately above. Would love to hear how you seek God.

Until next time,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

