Prayer of Agur

A great reminder – Originally written June of 2011 – Timeless nevertheless.

I found the heart-felt prayer in chapter 30 of Proverbs inspiring.  “Two things I ask of you, O Lord; do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’ Or, I may become poor and steal and so dishonor the name of my God.”  A model of prayer I should pray every day.  Agur states in verse 3, “I have not learned wisdom, nor have I knowledge of the Holy One”, yet he prays to be neither rich nor poor; to have what he needs – nothing more – nothing less.

A man who does not know God prays a prayer which makes a woman who does know God a smidge uneasy. Let’s be clear, that woman’s me! I have no issue praying for neither riches nor poverty; that’s easy. Praying, “I have simply what I need”, brings uncomfortableness. The Proverbs 30-8uneasiness comes from wondering will God and I agree on what’s sufficient for my daily needs. The truth is I have an abundance of food and material goods; everything I need. That being the case I must ask the questions, “Why would praying this prayer make me uncomfortable”?  I’m uncomfortable because abundance has become my norm.  No, I’m not wealthy in the least, however, by poverty standards, I am extremely rich. There-in lays my uneasiness. I need to learn contentment in all circumstances, like the apostle Paul who stated, “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12

Bottom line it all comes down to 3 things:

  • Trusting that God will supply all my needs Philippians 4:19
  • Trusting God loves me beyond measure. That he desires todo immeasurably more than all we (I) ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us (me) Ephesians 3:20
  • Believe God wants only the best for me Psalm 32:8 (NLT)

I have some heart work and praying to do…

Until next time,
Be Encouraged,
Sandra

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Kings, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

