A Heart for God

“For David had done what was right in the eyes of the Lord and had not failed to keep any of the Lord’s commands all the days of his life –except in the case of Uriah the Hittite.” 1 Kings 15:5

It would be easy to read right over this verse. Previously, when I’ve read this passage, this sentence never caught my attention.  This time these words jumped right out at me, in bold black and white letters, “… except in the case of Uriah the Hittite.” Rather nonchalant statement; certainly not a big red waving flag.  It’s almost as if David’s caught picking his nose.  Sort of like this… “David, my son, perfect in every way, except for that time he picked his nose”. Really? Come on.  David MURDERED Uriah…. Why?  David had slept with Uriah’s wife while Uriah’s out on the battlefield. David got Bathsheba, Uriah’s wife, pregnant and then tried to cover the whole thing up by murdering her husband.  Yep, that’s the truth of the situation.  In this passage the writer simply states “… Except in the case of Uriah the Hittite.”

That’s what’s so glorious about the God I serve. He sees the heart of the person, not just their actions. We all sin. We all have things in our past for which we’re not proud. I do!  It’s my heart attitude and actions which matter. Where does my heart lie? As I get to know the character of David, I can tell David’s heart was totally set on seeking God. That doesn’t mean David was perfect. It doesn’t mean David didn’t sin, or didn’t make mistakes – – – he most certainly did!

I love how this verse shows God’s heart towards David.  Did you notice I wrote the words murder in big caps?  Murder’s a big deal! Yet in light of eternity, in light of all that matters, this act appears to simply be a small blemish in the life of David. Almost an afterthought, as if to say, “Oh, yeah, except for ….” When our hearts are right, when our hearts seek that which matters, when our hearts are aligned with God, then forgiveness is the outcome! Not partial forgiveness, not selective memory forgiveness, not forgiveness because I have to forgive, but complete forgiveness.  When God forgives it is for eternity and our sins are removed as far as the East is from the West (Psalm 103:12).

God's own heart“David was a man after God’s own heart”. (1 Samuel 13:14) David’s heart was set on seeking God and being obedient to God’s calling in his life. Due to God’s complete forgiveness, David’s sin of murder became nothing more than a hiccup along the road to eternity. Please, hear me, I am not making light of what David did, and neither did God. He experienced heavy consequences, life altering consequences for his sin. In light of eternity, in light of the life that David lived for God, in light of David’s heart, his sinful actions were all forgiven. Forgiven as if they never happened!

All I can say is, WOW!!!

I have miles to go in my walk with the Lord.  I love God – at least I think I do (a discussion for a future blog) my motives however, are often more about me then He. I cannot help but wonder what He would say.  Maybe something like, “She’s got spunk that girl, now if we could channel her in the proper direction…” God can do wonders with a surrendered life! As I surrender my life to His lead through obedience to His Word, perhaps I too will one day hear the words, “Sandra, a woman after God’s own heart”.

Until then, just call me “Spunky”.

 

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Kings, Character, Obedience and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Heart for God

  1. I’m spunky, too! 🙂

    Like

  2. Linda L Hall says:

    Good stuff! Glad to see you back writing more. Definitely your gift.

    Like

  3. Sandra says:

    Thank you Cat

    Like

  4. Cat says:

    VERY GOOD AND VERY WELL SAID.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

