Today’s Footprint

Reading in 1 Kings, 15 and 16, I noticed numerous references of leaders “doing evil in the eyes of the Lord”. Many of these actions were modeled by grandfathers and fathers, thereby handed down to their sons. What a legacy to leave one’s grandchildren, children and the nation at large.  What a witness to others. “To be remembered for doing evil” is not a legacy I would choose.

Through my writing I hope my words make a difference. If one person comes to know Jesus I’m forever blessed. Of course, I pray more than one life is touched along the way.  It breaks my heart, as I know it did God’s, to see, or in my case read the words, “he did evil in the sight of the Lord as so and so did before him”.

footprint-legacyI wonder if the kings who passed on their evil ways thought about what legacy they were leaving.  Did they care?  Doesn’t appear they did.  Truthfully, I didn’t put much stock in what others would remember until about a decade ago.  Perhaps, that’s the downside of youth.  “Youngens” tend to think life goes on forever; even though we know it doesn’t.  And maybe the devil has a hand in it too. If I’m not intentional in my actions and the life I model for others, Satan might get the upper hand.

You’ve no doubt heard the saying, “There are 2 guarantees in life; death and taxes.”  I would like to add a third. You will leave a legacy, no matter what. The question “What kind of legacy? If the answer’s not one for which you jump for joy, it’s not too late to change the course. As long as you have breath, there’s time to choose for what you’ll be remembered; to some extent. Obviously some things are simply not in our control.

It’s not possible for me to undo those things for which I’m a wee bit regretful.  We all have those memories. From this day forward I can be more intentional in my actions. I can give more thought into what I do, say and take in with my eyes and ears. I can listen more to the voice of the Holy Spirit.  He never pushes nor demands.  He’s always gentle, ever prodding me onward to accomplishing good. I can choose to have a heart for God and others while living my life for God. Let’s be honest – I won’t be perfect! But then it’s not about perfection, it’s about heart.

I hope to be remembered for a life which reflected the love of Jesus in action word and deed. And at the top of my legacy list is to hear another utter the words, “I came to know Jesus Christ because Sandra lived”. 

leaving-a-legacy-handsOnly time will tell if I succeed. One thing I do know, those who know me now, know with all my warts and shortcomings, I, like the Apostle Paul of the Bible, am pressing on towards the goal until the Lord calls me home.

 

Until next time
Joyfully,
Sandra

“Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:12-14

About Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.
This entry was posted in 1 Kings, Character, leaving a legacy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

